MOUSUMI

Warning! If you lack sensuousness, this post may be offensive to your taste. Sensational, graphic photographs follow the text.

A confession in the open. I love Mousumi. Forget the women I have married and escaped getting married to! In all my life, I have never had anyone like M. I cannot imagine any in her class in any city in any world. Yes, that sounds so corny and OTT, but love does that to you. It makes your eyes misty, your breath shallow and fast, and sets the old pulse on an uneven cadence, like a horse with a mild groin injury.
Love is a reflection of value. A value is something to gain and to keep. Is it hard for you, beloved (lady) reader, to accept that I, the virtual apple of your amorous cock-eye, am besotted with one who is far sweeter than you can fathom?
Let me tell you about M. Perfectly proportioned, her unapologetic curves arouse lascivious looks from one and all. Soft and silky to the touch, once I lift her in my strong hands, I can’t wait a second before my moist lips reach for her. My tongue licks her teasingly for a brief moment before my teeth sink into the soft flesh. Soon, her juices are mine. Taking Mousumi is an unbelievable experience. The heart pounds as never before. I am afraid I will die of pleasure.
I can’t wait to enjoy Mousumi again.
Ladies and gentlemen, presenting you Mousumi!

dsc02318

Made of fresh Notun gur, the jaggery from fresh date palm that is a specialty of Bengal, Mousumi has a filling of fresh, grated coconut, moistened in the gur and enriched with nuts.

dsc023201

The softness of the sandesh is matched by the fresh, pure flavors of the gur. Contrary to what you may imagine, her sweetness is not overpowering. But there is no way to miss its after-taste!

dsc023231

Mousumi comes from the house of Nakur Nandi, old-time confectioners of Kolkata. Once available only in North Kolkata, it is now enjoyed even by people in the South of the city.
Alas, in a few weeks, Mousumi will leave us and reappear after a full year!

28 responses to “MOUSUMI

  1. If you meant to use that kind of language for the shock effect, let me assure you, you succeeded and all through the first part I was wondering what had come over you that you were jeopardizing your marriage with such public outbursts of lust for this mousumi babe.
    Now that you have managed to create the feeling that this one has all the sensousness of a woman, would it be totally inappropriate for me to desire to taste? You have ruined it for me forever Rambo!

  2. initially when i read the post i thought of commenting, “wake up, wake up… its already morning!!” :P :P

    But when i saw your passion.. duh… I can never understand a passion for sweets..

    But why next year? Is it made only once a year???

  3. :lol: I have never tasted it and I guess thats a shame being a Bengali !

  4. I guessed that you were being true to the title of your blog, although I had thought you were going to bite into a mausambi! :)

  5. Bombay wadapav eater

    Very new to your blog. Oh no infidelity! this good doctor has an affair….no it must be a joke probably: Moushmi Chatterji, the actress I thought to myself.

    Sad that I wasn’t introduced to Mousumi when I was in Cal. :( I have the same question as Sakhi: is it some annual sweet? So it is free from white sugar (you might wonder why white sugar because I use the unbleached brown one which is gur equivalent)? Can you get the recipe from the shop please? I am too far away and must plan another visit just to meet Mousmi.

  6. Usha:
    It is not inappropriate to desire the taste of a woman: trust me when I say this! ;-) Ergo, you can enjoy her taste any winter you come up to Kolkata!
    Sakhi:
    Yes, the fresh gur is made only around this time of the year. A couple of months, and it is all gone.
    Reema:
    Shame, shame! Don’t tell me you have never had a Chandrapuli, too!?
    Nita:
    You guessed it? Ah, but you are a journalist, and that tribe is pretty hard to fool!
    Wadapav:
    Welcome to this blog! No, forget about the recipe. It is too much to make this at home. A visit to enjoy Mousumi is well worth it. I am planning to visit some Indian cities just for the food. Like Amritsar for jalebis and tandoori chicken, Lahore for kebabs, biryani, and paratha, etc.

  7. Sorry, make that Lucknow, not Lahore, though that is where one should head for in an ideal world!

  8. I read somewhere- Don’t let love interfere with your appetite.
    Like @ Bombay wadapav eater , I too guessed Moushmi Chatterji, the actress.

  9. Come on Doc, the picture gave it away. You should have posted it as a link rather than embedding it in the blog. All the curious one would have sweated like anything and waited till they got home to click on the link and look at the picture. he he … :) Mousami looks delicious :)

  10. Very nice! :)

    The second sentence screamed in boldface 24 that it wasn’t a woman (I doubt you’d live to respond to comments if it were ;) ). “One who is far sweeter…” confirmed it was some kind of an exotic dessert – my guess was some soft mango based (seasonal/mousumi) dessert. But know what really gave it away even before all that? The fact that you wrote it! :P

    (Pssst… do you realize, while you fantasize about her curves and soft touch and your lips reaching her, she’s willing to take the knife through her heart for you?) A(h),men!

    Nicely done!

    -g

  11. Ah doc…can i also enjoy your mousumi. Just once?

  12. @R-Doc

    Having lived in Calcutta and having throngs of mishti-obsessed Bong (not that sort of Bong!) friends pay off eventually. I knew what it was you were referring to :-P

    I am waiting for a semi-Bong friend to finish her PhD. She makes mishti doi and sandesh to die for and she plans to throw a joint party with me to celebrate our doctorates… Can’t wait.

  13. @ Rdoc:

    [Yaw-w-w-w-n!]! How predictable!! A dead giveaway from the very outset. Unlike Shefaly, I am not familiar with the particular item, but instinctively knew it was something in the misthri department. Alimentary, my dear Watson!

    Anyway, thanks for reminding me that notun gur is in season. Time to make a trip to Kolkata, or at least to go hunting for my favourite nolen gurer shondesh at our local mishtanno bhandar.

  14. Prerna:
    Never that lady: too many crooked teeth even when she was young!
    DB:
    You read the whole post in your blog-surfer? Oh!
    Gauri:
    Ah, man! Thanks.
    Shefaly:
    How sweet!
    So you will be joint celebrities or jointly celibate? ;-)
    AD:
    Of course! Just send tickets to where you are (Sexas/ Californication, etc.), and I will bring her along.
    Vivek:
    Huh! Who would expect a hard-boiled guy like you to under stand passion? You are welcome to Kolkata, where Mousumi and others wait for you. Incidentally, misthri is a mechanic, and mishti is the food of the Gods.

  15. Doc:

    Sorry about that typo. But the Gods are mechanics aren’t they? Look at all the mess they have created over the ages.

    As for passion, you obviously missed my second paragraph.

  16. One shouldn’t fall in love with something he/she is planning to eat. :)

  17. i like vivek wondered if it was something sweet, stemming also from ur sweet tooth and the reputation u have garnered as a food connaisseur !

  18. @ prax:

    I did not “wonder”, I knew :-)

  19. I thought it was about “Moushmi” Chatterjee.
    Thought she was your childhood crush or something! :P

  20. Doc, you live up to reputation. Like Dinesh Babu said, instead of putting them pics full size on the main page, extra small thumbnails linking to them would’ve worked wonders towards keeping the suspense alive. One glance at the post, and the sandesh pics were a giveaway.

  21. ah doc, that was somethin’ else. :-)
    Along with your words, you need to get sneaky too, and pounce folks with the punchline :p

    o, you should check this blog out if you haven’t already . Shameless plug, but hey, it is what it is!

    cesmots.wordpress.com

  22. Anshul:
    Touché!
    Prax:
    I will make amends another time.
    Amit:
    Aha! ;-)
    Partho:
    Thanks, welcome to these parts! I understand… I put in the ‘Keep Reading’ thing to create the suspense, but it worked only for the innocent readers. The old rogues in the blogosphere are not easy to fool!
    Rads:
    I will check that one out. Thanks!

  23. Doc:

    //…too many crooked teeth even when she was young!//

    You mean the Kolkata of her “young” days did not have orthodontists? I can’t imagine all those Chinese dentists forming such a strong mafia to keep them out.

  24. OOOH, she looks lusciously scrumptious! I don’t blame you!

  25. Bombay wadapav eater

    Vivek and Rambodoc
    Amazing that you know so much about sweets! I never ate sweets except rusgulla. All these sound so yummy! Oh do pls. pass me the addresses of all these hot spots…my hubby has a sweet tooth and my 14-month old son does not want to eat any Zwieback but biscuits so probably must make it to Cal.

    Rambodoc
    If you say so. So do you plan to come to Germany to try the Bratwurst or Sauerkraut? I had been to Cal on my way to the Sunderbans and did not spot any tiger. Probably should have utilised the time finding about about these sweets. Just joking…Sunderbaans was worth it.

  26. U mean mean doc..tormenting people with words and descriptions and pictures like this.
    There ought to be a law against this type of posts.

  27. “There ought to be a law against this type of posts.”
    Geeta:
    Of course!
    Nomad:
    Yes, I am gonna have more today.
    Wadapav:
    Germany, eh?
    Vivek:
    I wasn’t born when Mousumi Chatterjee flashed her crooked teeth, and when Kolkata still had Chinese dentists, so I can’t say!

  28. Bombay wadapav eater

    Why Germany, eh? It is really beautiful but obviously not worth coming here to taste Bratwurst and sauerkraut. I am almost vegetarian so these are not for me. I will always miss the wadapav!

Leave a Reply

