AHEM!

picture-1.png

Today, I learnt that the World Journal of Surgery was published.
I find a vaguely familiar name, but somehow cannot place the guy. Must have been a blogger at some point in time.
I am fairly sure this is some silly, inconsequential, self-serving noise made under the guise of respectability (and if you have been reading this blog for some time, you know how academia likes its pomp and nomenclature), a so-called invited commentary, bah!
Hmmph! Wonder what the WJS folks will call this blog if they read it: Global Acknowledgment of Stupid Surgeons (GASS)?

8 responses to “AHEM!

  1. super! 🙂

    *thrusting mic into the Doc’s face* how does it feel, actually knowing all those high sounding words (which to my ears are no different than gibberish)?

    Priya,
    Which words? Global Acknowledgment of Stupid Surgeons (GASS)?

    🙂
    (clears throat)..speaks with an awe-inspiring basso: “Well, the answer, my friend, is blowin’ in the wind!”

  2. hmm..u make us proud 🙂

    Sree,
    With my blogging, you mean? Thanks!
    🙂

  3. As soon I saw the title of that paper, all I could do was grimace, shift uncomfortable on my chair and say “Ouch!” I have no idea what the subject means, but I am sure my reaction was appropriate 🙂 !

    Arun,
    If you are grimacing and shifting uncomfortably in your chair while reading a blog post, you might be suffering from a scrotal hernia, but more likely from hemorrhoids (in other words, you may not be a perfect asshole!). LOL!
    🙂

  4. This sounds like the surgical version of Arun’s ongoing doctoral thesis on Carnatic music to me!

    Or like GEB: Escher’s Laparoscopic view, with Bach’s Intraperitoneal compositions, mixed with Godel’s Irreducible Scrotal Theorem!

    In order words, I don’t even know what I don’t know, but I do know that this is again some great work by you. Applause, applause!

    Wow,Mahendra!
    That is one funny comment. Bravo!
    🙂

  5. After reading the title a mere 8 times, I have concluded two things: (1) The article has something to do with hernias, and (2) English is no longer a safe language for the faint of heart. But congratulations on being invited to comment on… on… on hernias, I think.

    Paul,
    You are wasting your time with philosophy and politics. Chew your humerus bone more.

    English is no longer a safe language for the faint of heart.

    What an incredibly funny comment!
    🙂

  6. “Not a perfect ass-hole” – 🙂 LOL doc!

    But I don’t shift uncomfortably in my chair when I read about oral surgery or if when I get a head-ache 😉

  7. Springer – not the “Jerry” variety I presume?

    Ashok,
    Who knows? 🙂

  8. Pingback: MAN, MONEY AND MALARIA « A Twist of Word and Mind

Leave a Reply

