HLP! SHK-SHK M GONADIE!

I have confessed before in a tag (before I knew what a tag was) that I keep shaking my legs. In other words, I have (I think) Restless Legs Syndrome (RLS). Incidentally, there is a ‘disease’ called Third Year Syndrome, where the sufferer is a third year medical student who, upon reading clinical medicine for the first time in life, thinks he has the symptoms of every disease in the book (“I think I have a brain tumor like meningioma because I, too, have these headaches”, or “My God, it looks like I have Crohns’ Disease, my diarrhea is so bad”). I might be carrying a bit of that, I think. A recent trial says that people with Restless Leg Syndrome die sooner because of heart disease or stroke. The link path is unknown, but is putated to be that a sleep disorder causes the RLS, and the lack of sleep harms your heart and circulation.
Moral of this story:‘Shake Hands, Not Legs’.
Tagline for the RLS Society:‘Restless legs? Rest in peace!’

I read another article today, published in the JAMA, which says a trial has shown no benefits in giving testosterone to elderly males who have lower than normal levels of the hormone. Why is this significant? Well, aging in the male is associated with low testosterone levels, and hence we could think we can slow the manifestations of the aging process by replacing the hormone. Unfortunately, no.
Recommended reading (old post): Old Men Are Willing, But Women?

An unrelated story:
Airtel (a telecom operator in India) has just launched the SMS 2.0 services, and is proud to be the first off the block. What this is going to do for the SMS crazy younger generation is anybody’s guess, but I don’t particularly fancy colored messages with winking smileys and all that. I would be interested in SMS 3.0 where the shortcuts of the sms (like the deplorable title of this post) transform automatically into proper language text.

So, talk about packing value! With no six-packs to display, I packed the three stories in one award-winning post. If only I live long enough to claim it.

9 responses to “HLP! SHK-SHK M GONADIE!

  1. Can’t tolerate sitting next to people who shake their legs all the time, esp. in movie theaters. Someone told me that it’s a sign of sexual frustration.

  2. Ruhi:
    I have been a mover and shaker long before I heard the word ‘sex’. But my movement is gentle, non-violent. I don’t know why people keep complaining of dining tables and beds rocking when I do that!

  3. 🙂
    on gentle RLS, count me in.

  4. Good luck with the RLS(if you have it). I thought that happened out of nervousness.

    I heard about the SMS 2.0 thing and my phone doesn’t support it. Thank God for that or else I would have had to see all rainbow coloured messages in my inbox. And I love your idea about the SMS 3.0 thing..it’ll definitely make the messages way easier to comprehend.

  5. //A recent trial says that people with Restless Leg Syndrome die sooner because of heart disease or stroke.// Doesn’t shaking your leg come under the category of aerobic excercise?

  6. I remember reading somewhere that people with restless limbs are never overweight. That counts as something, no?

  7. a trial has shown no benefits in giving testosterone to elderly males who have lower than normal levels of the hormone.

    No benefits to whom?

  8. Usha:
    Ha, great question!

Leave a Reply

