ON QUIRKS AND QUACKS

Well, Dinesh Babu tagged me for some quirky things about me. I don’t know how he imagined I could have any at all, so I had to invent some so as not to disappoint him. Here goes:
1. I have the Pontius Pilate Syndrome: I keep washing my hands repeatedly, especially before eating or drinking anything. I even wash my hands after putting on my shoes, or opening the door! Alternatively, I use hand disinfectants. As a surgeon, I cannot be too careful when transferring germs to others. Fomites are surfaces where bacterial spores and other bugs get transferred from hand to hand and cause infections.
2. The No-Touch Technique: I try never touching the door handles of public toilets. Fomites again! Do you remember The Aviator? Howard Hughes, played by Leo DiCaprio, is an obsessive-compulsive freak, and waits in the restrooms for someone to come in so that he can exit without touching the door handle. Well, that is me (minus the OCD), most times. I often use my shoes to open the doors, and even to flush the can!
3. I am unnaturally (for men) considerate: I keep gym weights, exercise balls and mats back in place so that others are not inconvenienced, and I clean up the toilet basin for the women who share them with me (one at a time, ladies!). Then I wash my hands!
4. I am supposed to be an 18-month fanatic: I am fanatical about certain things, but after 18 months, you will find that I have no interest anymore. Examples include girl-fiends, physical activity, blogging, and many others. Now this is a politically motivated allegation, and I strongly refute it. In fact, as proof, I have been denying this allegation fanatically for more than 18 years!
5. I think I cannot write what I think.
6. I kill tags. Die!

Oh, if you are wondering where the ‘Quacks‘ in the title of this blog post went, here it is:
“Quack! Quack!!”

16 responses to “ON QUIRKS AND QUACKS

  1. “girl-fiends” A Freudian slip or rather typo!! πŸ˜›

    Ok so this is the 18th month of your blogging going on! come on don’t quit. Like your twists with words a lot!

  2. lol πŸ™‚

    Spoilsports all of you. Killing a tag indeed. Just let it die a natural death no? :p

  3. Reema:
    It is rare for me to make a typo on a post!
    πŸ˜‰
    Rads:
    Bah, spoilsport?! Okay, so do it, wokay?!

  4. Hahaha! Kill the tag, indeed! Enjoyed! I know a few surgeons. They are ALL obsessive about washing hands. A necessary corollary of a lifetime of conducting PR examinations, i suppose. (Uncle has a joke, esp after a few whiskies. He prods unsuspecting people in the ribs and tells them he can’t bear to see an asshole without poking one with a finger, and then laughs very loudly)

  5. Vivek Khadpekar

    @ Rdoc:

    With surgeons I think the same action goes by the name of Pontius Pilate Syndrome before examining examining the patient and the Lady Macbeth syndrome after operating. As you can see, there is a subtle difference πŸ˜‰

  6. @ R-Doc

    You are showing classic symptoms of obsessive compulsive disorder. πŸ˜‰

    As for killing the tag, I agree wholly with you. For a behaviour to be judged a ‘quirk’, it has to be observed and commented upon by someone else, not by the protagonist. If a human has the capacity to judge his or her own behaviour egregious or quirky, he or she also has the power to change it, esp if it hurts. I do not see, for instance, the Pontius Pilate syndrome as a quirk. If more people merely washed hands properly and oftener, many diseases would not spread and we would not have the MRSA in near epidemic proportions in our NHS. Ergo, this tag requiring individuals to list their own quirks is (oxy)moronic. Well done on the ‘murder’. You have, I assume, already washed your hands of the responsibility, just like Pontius Pilate.

  7. Amusing and thanks for the disclaimer at the start otherwise we might have got serious doubts about you. πŸ™‚ Maybe I should have put such a disclaimer above my quirky tag too. πŸ˜‰
    But hey, good to know you are obsessive about washing your hands! I guess your patients won’t come back to you after 18 months!

  8. Guess I am not the only loony one! πŸ™‚
    I have this habit of checking out the bathroom lock again and again when I am having a bath, even when I know perfectly well that I have locked it. πŸ˜€
    And a murderer who is a doctor sounds interesting and Ironical! You are supposed to save things…

  9. So I guess you would prefer taps, paper dispenser and hand dryer that are activated by sensors? That has to be very quirky.
    I am guilty of killing one tag, so I let this one pass. May be the next one will get killed, but it depends on what the tag is.
    Thank you for doing the tag.

  10. ah, but see, I beat you to it after Dinesh tagged me πŸ˜›

  11. “Well, that is me (minus the OCD), most times.”
    I love that strategically placed dangling modifier πŸ˜€ So what then, that’s you most times, but always minus the OCD? Or you all the time, but mostly minus the OCD? 😐

    “…here it is: β€œQuack! Quack!!” “.
    ROFL. You saved yourself just in time from the title being extended to “…and Quirks of Quacks” πŸ˜‰

    On another note, would a computer keyboard pass as a fomite? Now that would be fun! πŸ™‚

    -g

  12. Vivek:
    Hahaha!

    Shefaly:
    OCD is when your life is governed by the repetitiveness of your actions. You are aware that what you do is crazy, but you are helpless in stopping yourself. Look at Amit: he probably is a fruitcake, with 600 calories per 100 grams, and the nuts level way too high for his cholesterol!
    As for me, I am not aware that my behavior is repetitive and pointless, or that my cleanliness is fussy and obsessive!
    πŸ˜‰
    Amit:
    See above!

    Nita:
    You still have doubts about the need to doubt me? I am touched!

    Dinesh:
    Why the somber note? After all, Obama won!

    Rads:
    I missed it, but now I have subscribed to your blog.

    Gauri:
    Thanks! Of course, the keyboard is more teeming with bugs than a politician’s anal canal, if email forwards are your main staple of getting medical information. I wonder, looking at the email forwards I get from doctors, how any doctor can afford to read journals any more when all the vital info is in the emails!

  13. Ha Ha ha Quack Dies here. Wonder if some one will do a post on all the deaths of the Tags.

    Mee too, I am -(OCD) 100% of the day, you know the bad case of cant-keep-stuff-where-they -are-suppose-to-be πŸ™‚

  14. How about taking a couple of those disposable gloves to the restaurants and use them when you need to turn the restroom handle? I am really worried about you getting locked inside if nobody decided to come after you, you know.
    And let’s just pretend that this is the 19th month – much like the floors in hotels which don’t have a 13th. Now we are safe aren’t we? I will personally come after you if you ever stop blogging, OK?

  15. @ Usha:

    //I will personally come after you if you ever stop blogging…//

    Give him a break! Maybe the restroom is the only place he can go to when he needs a respite from blogging πŸ™‚

    On the other hand, maybe that’s where his muse resides πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  16. Ah, a tag-killer like me! Nice! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

